Focus, discipline and…

Another day, another rejection from a publisher. But that’s not what I am going to write about.

A couple of days ago, I was at an alumni meet where I met an alumnus of a much refined vintage. It turns out that he was trying to get his first book published as well – a collection of short stories. He proudly informed me that he had received ten rejections. But more importantly, he suggested something that really was an ‘aha’ moment. His advise was : pick up a hobby – preferably a sport or running. That will get the creative juices flowing. And equally importantly, he mentioned that one needs to set a time for writing, and just write during that time. It need not be related to your book, though that would be preferred!  The idea was that one needs to become more disciplined. His thoughts were echoed by another alum who has published two books so far. It was good to meet others who had traversed the same journey that I have just started.

So here I am, writing this post early in the morning. For me, the 4 AM – 6 AM time works best. I had always thought that writing was an escape of sorts from the daily grind. But in order to focus on writing, taking up a sport or running or meditation is something I am going to try out. Let us see what its impact is.

2 thoughts on “Focus, discipline and…

  1. Hmmm that’s rather clever. I think it makes perfect sense and think I’m going to do the same thing. Thanks for sharing and it doesn’t matter how many no’s you get– you only need one yes– keep hitting the mail.

    1. Thanks for your comments. And it’s true- we wait for ages for that someone special to say “yes”, so the wait for a yes from a publisher seems relatively easier.

Leave a Reply

